Green Eggplant with Bamboo Shoot & Chives

Presenting you an original from the Serene Naked Chef’s Kitchen – an accidental recipe, actually an honest upshot of drinking and cooking. 

A delicious home-style dish of green eggplant, onion, garlic, bamboo shoot, chives, salted peanuts, and madras curry powder, stir-fried in a wok. Taste bud sensation: garlicky, subtly earthy, mildly sour with a nutty touch.

Many of my close friends knows I am a naturist in my own world. During my ME-time kitchen meditation and cooking therapy, I could be bothered less by what I wear…if anything at all! The ritual typically begins with opening a bottle of wine, gin, or whatever the libation of the hour!

As I really love eggplant, I did some research on different cooking styles. I came across mostly Asian or Indian or baked.  All too mainstream for me as I wanted something very simple. So, I started to hatch my own concoction – Eggplant and bamboo shoot which is now one of my favorite combinations. Surprisingly easy to recreate at home and packed with savory flavor. It makes a divine side to pair with jasmine rice / rice pilaf.

INGREDIENTS YOU’LL NEED FOR STIR-FRIED GREEN EGGPLANT AND BAMBOO SHOOTS:

COOKING THE DISH:

Let’s prep the ingredients first. 
Mince the garlic, slice the onion, chopped chives, and soak the bamboo shoot strips in a hot water bowl. Quick rinse the enoki mushroom with cold water, cut off the woody part and separate them.
Cut the eggplants into medium strips about an inch in length. Place in a bowl with cold water and add salt. Let it soak in the salt water for 10 minutes. Drain and pat dry.

Heat the wok, pour 4-6 tbsp oil over medium heat until shimmering. Adjust the oil quantity as per your requirements. Add the onion until soft and lightly browned. Add the eggplant strips and fry until tender for about 5 mins. Add the mince garlic and continue to fry for another 2-3mins. 

Add the bamboo shoot strips and curry powder. Fry for 5 minutes. Add the enoki mushrooms and peanuts (lightly crushed). Turn the hit to high and fry for another 10 mins

Finally, turn off the heat and sprinkle with black pepper, salt and chives. Toss well to combine. 

Enjoy while it’s hot, serve with hot jasmine rice.

N.B. Replace the Peanut with smoked pork cubes, for the non-vegetarian version, its finger licking good.

NOTE: If you try this at home, do share and leave a comment. Namaste!

Robindro Saikhom
robin@serenejourneys.co
www.serenejourneys.co

Robin is the founder of Serene Journeys, an LGBTQ+ owned & operated travel company based in Delhi & Bangkok, a travel curator, a travel photographer and a FOODie, exploring the beauty of South and Southeast Asia.

Check us out on Instagram Facebook Twitter Youtube Linkedin